Raiding the Tomb of Lord Tsang

Remember that adventure in Jin’Ka Forest? That was a quest line that led up to the ability to raid Tomb of Lord Tsang, a level 18 – 22 (I’d say) dungeon.

We assembled a a very tidy group and went inside:

2013-02-27_00002

Flop, and that’s what it looks like on the inside:

2013-02-27_00003

We wiped somewhere around here, the first time around. Something or someone had mezzed our tank.

2013-02-27_00006

On the second try, we moved past that and into the rooms beyond. There are several quest lines leading to named mobs and quest givers like this:

2013-02-27_00009

Mysterious hallways like this:

2013-02-27_00011

Rooms with shafts and pools of light:

2013-02-27_00012

And here’s an upgrade for my staff, from a random named:

2013-02-27_00013

2013-02-27_00014

And this last guy was in a purple room, I think dropping a purple gem or medallion:

2013-02-27_00016

Yeah, it doesn’t look like much in my screenshots, but the reason they didn’t turn out any better is that I was too busy to take them! Wow. From the first minute I set foot in that dungeon with my group, it felt like EverQuest again. So much so that when we were about to be wiped, I had the caster reflex of just standing still and waiting to get killed, not running back so as not to pull any respawns by mistake. It turns out that in Vanguard, that wouldn’t be necessary. I could try to flee (the repops aren’t so fast in that dungeon), hide somewhere and then go back and rez my friends with a rez orb.

Had I only known. But now I do.

The whole experience was really exciting and the game totally captures the vibe of 1999. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

